President Uhuru Orders Partial Lockdown In Four Counties

President Uhuru Kenyatta, on Monday, April 6, announced new stiffer measures were to be enforced to ensure that the Covid-19 pandemic was contained.

In a presidential address from State House Nairobi, the president announced that he would use any legal means necessary to secure the safety of the Kenyans.

He went on to reveal that the majority of persons who have contracted the disease were residents of the Nairobi Metropolitan area and the counties of Kilifi, Kwale, and Mombasa, and then read out several new measures to be effected immediately.

There shall be no traveling:

There shall be the cessation of all movement by road, rail or air and all travel in and out of Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale counties for a period of 21 days.

He added:

We must escalate our response even more to safeguard our nation.

He went on to clarify that no passenger-carrying bicycles, scooters, motorcycles, vehicles, railway wagons, aircraft would be allowed within the highlighted counties.

The president also elaborated that the new 21-day containment within Nairobi County would be effected starting at 7 p.m. April 6, while the other 3 high-risk counties had until April 8, 7 p.m. before the new rules kicked in.

His latest directive will effectively ensure a mandatory containment within the counties that were classified as high-risk areas.

Ksh2 billion recovered from corrupt practices will be allocated to helping the financially unstable in urban areas.

He then warned Kenyans of the gravity of the situation, urging Kenyans to treat the matter with the seriousness it merits.

This coronavirus does not care about religion, tribe or size of your wallet. Defeating it will require us to put aside our differences and stand together.

H/T Citizen)


Related Stories