Owass, Presec And Adisco Set To Battle For The Most Coveted NSMQ Trophy Today

It is a clash of the titans as 3 schools; Presbyterian Boys SHS, Adisadel College and Opoku Ware SHS compete in the grand finale of the National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) today at 2 pm for the enviable title of NSMQ 2020 Winner.

The live coverage of the much-anticipated contest will be brought to you by JoyNews and streamed online at www.myjoyonline.com.

Two-time champions Opoku Ware SHS has beaten all odds and broken barriers on their path to the finale stage of the competition and are determined to make it a 3-time win in their school’s NSMQ history.

Presbyterian Boys SHS, five-time winners of the NSMQ are on the quest for their 6th trophy and cannot afford to lose this golden opportunity since their last win in 2009.

After 4 consecutive appearances in the finals, Adisadel College is poised and firmly grounded in hopes of being named two-time winners of NSMQ.

On Tuesday, 9 schools battled at the University of Ghana for a place in the grand finale.

Two-time champions Opoku Ware SHS with 55 points eliminated the “Bleoo” boys of Accra Academy and Boa Amponsem SHS in the first semi-final stage contest to secure a spot in the final stage of the competition.

The Zebra boys of Adisadel College scored 21 points and progressed to the grand finale. The Cape Coast-based school exited Achimota School and Keta SHTS from the NSMQ race.

The last contest in the semi-final stage featured Presec Legon, Kumasi Academy and Aburi SHTS. At the end of the contest, Presec Legon advanced to the grand finale with 66 points.

The stage is set and all 3 schools in the grand finale are expected to display their acumen, tenacity and grit to carry the much-coveted trophy at the end of the contest.


Related Stories