Nigeria Bans Travelers From China, UK And 11 Other High Risk Countries

Published on

The Federal Government has announced travel restrictions on travelers from 13 high risk countries hit by the corona virus (COVID-19) pandemic.

This was announced by the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, headed by Boss Mustapha, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, today Wednesday, March 18, 2020.

The countries affected by the travel ban are; the United States, China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland.

Finally! The government has restricted travelers from 13 countries where at least 1,000 cases of corona virus have been recorded.

The Federal Government has also suspended the issuance of visa on arrival to travelers from the affected countries. Furthermore, the government advised all Nigerians to avoid traveling to the affected countries.

The travel restrictions takes effect from Friday, March 20, and will be reviewed after four weeks. All travelers returning from the affected countries prior to the restriction will be in supervised self-isolation, monitored by the National Center for Disease Control (NCDC) and Port Health Services.

Neighboring countries like South Africa, Uganda, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Gabon, Burundi, and many others have all imposed travel restrictions earlier.


Related Stories