Akufo-Addo Swears In Six Court Of Appeal Justices And Begs Them To Be Honest

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Friday, 7th August 2020, swore into office six Justices of the Court of Appeal, at a ceremony at Jubilee House, the seat of the nation’s presidency.

The newly appointed Justices, comprising four men and two women, are Justice George Koomson, Justice Edward Amoako Asante, Justice Novisi Afua Aryene, Justice Eric Baah, Justice Richard Adjei-Frimpong and Justice Cynthia Pamela Akotoaa Addo.

At the ceremony, President Akufo-Addo stated that the new Justices are eminently fit and qualified for the position of Justice of the Court of Appeal, and have the impartiality of mind and independence of spirit to hold this high office.

With the Constitution affirming final judicial power in the State, the President explained that the Judiciary has exclusive jurisdiction in all matters of the breach of the law, civil and criminal, including matters relating to the interpretation and enforcement of the Constitution.

“It has, thus, onerous responsibilities to protect the individual liberties and fundamental human rights of citizens, to act as the arbiter in disputes between the State and the citizen, to act as the arbiter in disputes between citizens, and to serve as the bulwark for the promotion of the orderly development of our nation, and for the defence of the liberties and rights of our people,” he said.

President Akufo-Addo continued,

“So, to our new Justices of the Court of Appeal, it is important to bear in mind that the growth of our nation demands that we have a Judiciary that commands the respect of the people by the quality of its delivery of justice, as well as by the comportment of its judges. It is vitally important that we have judges who are honest, possess integrity and a sound knowledge of the law.”

Source: Daily Mail


Related Stories