Do your friends complain that you have been sending them pornographic materials on Facebook? If your answer is YES, then you are a victim of cyber phishing.

Phishing is the fraudulent attempt to obtain sensitive information such as usernames, passwords and credit card details by disguising oneself as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication.

This mostly happens without the knowledge of the original owners of the account.

I have been a victim and so has many others — you just have to be vigilant next time.

In my case, I received a friendly message which included a link via Facebook’s Messenger app asking me to vote for a friend who is in a beauty contest in school.

cyber phishing
Facebook user falls for phishing scam

After logging in with my Facebook credentials, the link suddenly redirected and it was at this moment I realized I’ve f*cked up.

My friends kept asking that I stopped sending them the porn — for someone like me, it was pretty embarrassing [yeah, I’m holy like that. Well, that’s what they think]. LOL!

Sydney Talker meme
Photo: Sydney Talker

My friend, Michelle [I’m sure] got a similar message and also fell hopelessly for it and she got her account hacked.

Facebook user gets hacked after falling for phishing scam
Michelle posted this on her Facebook timeline after she alerted.

Luckily for both of us, we were not locked out of our accounts and we were able to take the necessary steps to regain full control.

What To Do When This Happens To You

Do not open unfamiliar links sent to your DMs. If you mistakenly open it, DO NOT enter your login details (email and password) when asked.

In case you entered your details, be sure to change your details immediately before you are locked out.

Please note that the original owners of the account are innocent, some unscrupulous persons are only using their accounts remotely. Please do not attack them.

BE VIGILANT AND STAY SAFE ON THIS INTERNET THINGY.

-Advertisement-