VGMA: Full List Of ‘Artiste Of The Year’ Winners (1999 – 2020)

The Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) is the biggest music festival in Ghana and is not so surprising that several artistes hold it in high esteem.

Categories like “Song of the Year”, “Rapper of the Year”, “Best Collaboration of the Year”, “Reggae-Dancehall Artiste of the Year” and “Best New Artiste of the Year” have generated a lot of conversations and controversies, and widely debated over the years.

However, in all cses, the most sought after award by all artistes is the ‘Artiste of the year‘ award which is given to the most outstanding artiste for a particular calendar year.

Since 1999, the famous category has been bagged home by a lot of notable artistes. Below is a full list of winners of the famous category.

1999: Akyeame (Quophi Okyeame and Okyeame Kwame)

2000: Daddy Lumba.
2001: Kojo Antwi.
2002: Lord Kenya.
2003: Kontihene.
2004: V.I.P.
2005: Bice Osei Kuffour.
2006: Ofori Amponsah.
2007: Samini
2008: Kwaw Kese.
2009: Okyeame Kwame.
2010: Sarkodie.
2011: V.I.P.
2012: Sarkodie
2013: R2Bees.
2014: Shatta Wale
2015: Stonebwoy
2016: E.L.
2017: Joe Mettle
2018: Ebony Reigns
2019: unannounced
2020: Kuami Eugene


Related Stories