Bien, Tanasha Donna, Nyashinski Among Kenyan Musicians Nominated For AFRIMA 2022

The All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA), which is aimed at celebrating the rich musical heritage of African continent, has unveiled the list of nominated artistes for its 2022 edition.

The AFRIMA jury, composed of 12 members, said 9,067 entries were submitted for this year’s award show, the highest ever recorded since it was introduced.

They then scaled down the submissions to 382 nominations strewn across the 39 award categories, and distributed over five African regions as well as the diaspora.

Kenyan musicians Bien, Tanasha Donna, and Nyashinski

The Eastern African region garnered 69 nominations, representing 18 per cent of the total overall nominations.

Among big Kenyan names that landed nomination slots include; Bien Aime-Baraza, Nyashinski, Bey T, Bridget Blue, Tanasha Donna, as well as Kaka Empire signee Femi One.

Bien [‘Bald Men Anthem’ ft. Aaron Rimbui] and Nyashinski [‘Properly’ ft. Femi One] will go head-to-head in the ‘Best Male Artiste in Eastern Africa’ category alongside other heavy hitters such as Diamond Platnumz, Eddy Kenzo, Rayvanny, Marioo, and Mbosso.

Tanasha Donna [‘Maradonna’], Muthaka [‘Sorry’] and Nikita Kering [‘Last Name’] were nominated for ‘Best Female Artiste in Eastern Africa.’

Bey T was nominated under the ‘Best African Act in Diaspora (Female)’ category for her ‘Unanicheza’ hit featuring South African singer Boohle.

Umoja Sounds [‘Happy’ ft. Ariel Wayz] and Wanavokali [‘What A Time’] on the other hand landed nods for ‘Best African Band, Duo, Group.’

Kaka Empire hit ‘Hepi’ gave Femi One, King Kaka and Mbithi a nomination for the ‘Best Artiste, Duo or group in African Reggae, Ragga, Dancehall’ category.

Bridget Blue came in the ‘Best Artiste, Duo or Group in African RnB & Soul’ category for her ‘Goodbye’ song, while Rash [‘Far Beyond’] was nominated for ‘Best Artiste, Duo or Group in African Rock.’

Under the ‘Song Writer of the Year,’ the nominees included Bridget Blue & J Blessing [‘Woman’], Martin Obudho and Muthaka [‘Sorry’], as well as Mordecai ‘Dex’ Mwini [‘Reason’ by Wanavokali ft. H_art the Band].

With her song ‘Woman,’ Bridget Blue landed another nominated under ‘Best Female Artist in Africa Inspirational Music’ category while Noel Nderitu was nominated in ‘Best Male Artist in Africa Inspirational Music’ for his song ‘Waweza.’

‘I Have Nothing To Lose’ – Mulamwah Addresses Constant Outbursts Online


Related Stories