Did You Know That These Maasai Colors Had Meaning?

Image: CNN

The Maasai are a tribe of people who live in parts of Tanzania and Kenya and are known as tall and fierce warriors.

They can be recognized by the special red cloth they wear which is called a Shuka. The Maasai Shuka has become their trademark and they wear it with utmost pride and elegance. Different colors represent different aspects of their culture.

That said, the different colors of the different prints of the Maasai shuka represent different elements. Let us school you:

1. Orange

It represents hospitality, warmth, friendship & generosity



2. Blue

The Maasai community believes that raising cattle was a heaven sent gift and that the cattle was brought from the sky by God via use of a rope! Therefore, blue represents the sky that provides the water (rain) for the cows which are the source of food.



3. Red

Red is the most important color for the Maasai community. It represents blood, and it is considered important for Maasai warriors to wear it as a way to protect themselves against wild animals. RED is considered a sacred color, and is always the basic color of the shuka, or blanket worn around the shoulders by both men and women.



4. Green

Nourishment and production. Green represents the land that provides food for the Maasai and their livestock green also represents the need to protect territory, and to be rooted in a place.



5. Yellow

Fertility and growth. Yellow represents the sun, which sustains life by helping grass, which cattle eat to grow. Just like the Western culture, in the Maasai community, yellow is considered to be a sign of happiness and prosperity.



Ero! Next time you’re buying a maasai shuka, keep the colors in mind.